Alleged Taliban Hit List, Including Names Of Prominent Afghan Politicians, Leaked


An alleged hit list put by the Taliban, with the names of prominent Afghan politicians and public figures, was reportedly leaked online.

The list surfaced on Afghan social media earlier this week. On August 21, Rahmatullah Nabil, a former director of the National Directorate of Security (NDS) shared a photo of the list, which included his name.

A statement attached to the list reveals that the included names were suggested by the Taliban’s cultural commission. The group’s leadership approved their elimination.

Aside of Rahmatullah, the list included the following names:

  • Former Minister of Finance Hazrat Omar Zakhilwal;
  • Former Minister of Information and Culture Abdul Karim Khurram;
  • Former parliament member Mohammad Amin Weqad;
  • Hamayun Hamayun;
  • Former Vice President of Afghanistan Ahmad Zia Masood;
  • Media in Afghanistan, Nai, Director Mujeeb Kheltwatgar;
  • University professor Faiz Mohammad Zaland;
  • Political observers and analysts Nazar Mohammad Motmayen, Waliullah Shaheen and Khalil Safi;
  • Pajhwok Afghan News Director Danish Karokhail;
  • Asif Ashna;
  • Doctor Fayaz Safi;
  • Former Taliban official Sayed Akbar Agha.

Suhail Shaheen, a spokesman for the Taliban based in Qatar, denied that the hit list was put by the group, accusing the Afghan government of fabricating the list. The government is yet to comment on the matter.

Earlier this year, the Taliban reached a historical deal with the U.S. Washington committed to gradually withdraw from the war-torn country as a part of the deal.

The deal is currently facing serious challenges due to the lack of trust between the Taliban and the Afghan government. The alleged hit list will, without a doubt, further complicate the trust issues between the two sides.